The James E. Cottrell, M.D., Presidential Scholar Award recognizes colleagues who dedicate their formative careers to research. Anesthesiologists who are within 10 years of their first appointment to a department of anesthesiology, who are Board-certified in their country of practice, who are ASA members, and who are clinically active in anesthesia, intensive care or pain medicine are eligible for the award. Nominees must be academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research. Candidates should be nominated by their department chair or by the Committee on Research. The nominee’s department chair should submit a letter of support and the nominee’s current curriculum vitae as well as one seconding letter from a senior faculty member. Only one nominee per department will be accepted.

The recipient of the 2018 Presidential Scholar Award was Brian Bateman, M.D., Ph.D., who received the award at the Anesthesiology 2018 annual meeting in San Francisco.

The deadline for...

You do not currently have access to this content.