The American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Presidential Scholar Award recognizes colleagues who dedicate their formative careers to research.

The recipient of the 2007 Presidential Scholar Award was Marcos Francisco Vidal Melo, M.D., Ph.D., who received his award at the ASA Annual Meeting in San Francisco, California, on Monday, October 15, 2007. Dr. Melo is an Assistant Professor of Anesthesia in the Department of Anesthesia and Critical Care, Massachusetts General Hospital/Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts.

The deadline for nominations for the 2008 Presidential Scholar Award is March 31, 2008. Anesthesiologists who are within seven years of their first appointment to a department of anesthesiology, who are board-certified, who are ASA members, and who spend at least two days per week in clinical practice are eligible for the award. Nominees must be academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research. Candidates should be nominated by their department chair, or by the Committee on Research after review of the current year’s grant applicants of the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research. The nominee’s department chair should submit a letter of support and the nominee’s current curriculum vitae, as well as a seconding letter from a senior faculty member. Only one nominee per department will be accepted.

Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to Anne M. Watterson, Managing Editor, Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157 or e-mail