## **Nominations Sought for**

2020 ASA Award for Excellence in Research

The annual American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Award for Excellence in Research recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in research that has or is likely to have an important impact on the practice of anesthesiology.

The individual's work must represent a body of original, mature, and sustained contribution to the advancement of the science of anesthesiology. The nominee need not be a physician, an anesthesiologist, or a member of the ASA, but must be presently engaged in research related to anesthesiology, academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research, and nominated in response to a call for nominations. The completed application must include the nominee's current curriculum vitae, a letter of nomination, and a seconding letter from two individuals

with an understanding of the research contributions of the individual.

The 2019 Award for Excellence in Research was presented to Judith Hellman, M.D., at the Anesthesiology 2019 annual meeting in Orlando, Florida, on Saturday, October 19, 2019. Dr. Hellman is faculty at the University of California, San Francisco, where she has spent her career tracking how the interactions between microorganisms and the body's innate immune system lead to shock and organ dysfunction in sepsis and inflammatory critical illness.

The deadline for nominations for the 2020 Award for Excellence in Research is March 31, 2020. Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to Vicki Vass Tedeschi, Managing Editor, ANESTHESIOLOGY; e-mail: managing-editor@anesthesiology.org.

## **Nominations Sought for**

2020 James E. Cottrell, M.D., Presidential Scholar Award

The James E. Cottrell, M.D., Presidential Scholar Award recognizes colleagues who dedicate their formative careers to research. Anesthesiologists who are within 10 years of their first appointment to a department of anesthesiology, who are Board-certified in their country of practice, who are American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) members, and who are clinically active in anesthesia, intensive care, or pain medicine are eligible for the award. Nominees must be academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research. Candidates should be nominated by their department chair or by the Committee on Research. The nominee's department chair should submit a letter of support and the

nominee's current curriculum vitae as well as one seconding letter from a senior faculty member. Only one nominee per department will be accepted.

The recipient of the 2019 Presidential Scholar Award was Seun Johnson-Akeju, M.D., M.M.Sc., who received the award at the ANESTHESIOLOGY 2019 annual meeting in Orlando, Florida.

The deadline for nominations for the 2020 James E. Cottrell, M.D., Presidential Scholar Award is March 31, 2020. Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to Vicki Vass Tedeschi, Managing Editor, Anesthesiology; e-mail: managing-editor@anesthesiology.org.