

NOMINATIONS SOUGHT FOR

2011 Award for Excellence in Research

The annual American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Award for Excellence in Research recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in research that has or is likely to have an important impact on the practice of anesthesiology.

The individual's work must represent a body of original, mature, and sustained contribution to the advancement of the science of anesthesiology. The nominee need not be a physician, an anesthesiologist, or a member of the ASA, but must be presently engaged in research related to anesthesiology, academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research, and nominated in response to a call for nominations. The completed application must include the nominee's current curriculum vitae, a letter of nomination, and a seconding letter from two individuals with an understanding of the research contributions of the individual.

The 2010 Award for Excellence in Research was presented to J. A. Jeevendra Martyn, M.D., F.R.C.A., F.C.C.M., F.C.P., at the ASA Annual Meeting in San Diego, California, on Monday, October 18, 2010. Dr. Martyn is Professor of Anaesthesia and Director of the Clinical and Biochemical Pharmacology Laboratory at Harvard Medical School, Boston, Massachusetts.

The deadline for nominations for the 2011 Excellence in Research Award is March 31, 2011. Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to George H. Kendall, Managing Editor, ANESTHESIOLOGY, Department of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157; e-mail: managing-editor@anesthesiology.org.

NOMINATIONS SOUGHT FOR

2011 Presidential Scholar Award

The American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Presidential Scholar Award recognizes colleagues who dedicate their formative careers to research.

The deadline for nominations for the 2011 Presidential Scholar Award is March 31, 2011. Anesthesiologists who are within seven years of their first appointment to a department of anesthesiology, who are board-certified, who are ASA members, and who spend at least two days per week in clinical practice are eligible for the award. Nominees must be academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research. Candidates should be nominated by their department chair or by the Committee on Research after review of the current year's grant applicants of the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research. The nominee's department chair should submit a letter of support and the nominee's current curriculum vitae as well as one seconding letter from a senior faculty member. Only one nominee per department will be accepted.

The recipient of the 2010 Presidential Scholar Award was Max Kelz, M.D., Ph.D., who received the award at the ASA Annual Meeting in San Diego, California, on Monday, October 18, 2010. Dr. Kelz is an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology and Critical Care, University of Pennsylvania School of Medicine, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to George H. Kendall, Managing Editor, Anesthesiology, Department of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, 27157; e-mail: managing-editor@anesthesiology.org.