## Nominations Sought for Award for Excellence in Research

The annual American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Award for Excellence in Research recognizes an individual for outstanding achievement in research that has or is likely to have an important impact on the practice of anesthesiology.

The individual's work must represent a body of original, mature, and sustained contribution to the advancement of the science of anesthesiology. The nominee need not be a physician, an anesthesiologist, or a member of the ASA, but must be presently engaged in research related to anesthesiology, academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research, and nominated in response to call for nominations. The completed application must include the nominee's current curriculum vitae, a letter of nomination, and a seconding letter from two individuals with an understanding of the research contributions of the individual.

The 2008 Excellence in Research Award was presented to Zeljko J. Bosnjak, Ph.D., at the ASA Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida, on Monday, October 20, 2008. Dr. Bosnjak is Professor and Vice Chairman of Research, Department of Anesthesiology, and Professor of Physiology, Medical College of Wisconsin, Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

The deadline for nominations for the 2009 Excellence in Research Award is March 31, 2009. Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to George H. Kendall, Managing Editor, ANESTHESIOLOGY, Department of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157, or e-mail managing-editor@anesthesiology.org.

## Nominations Sought for Presidential Scholar Award

The American Society of Anesthesiologists (ASA) Presidential Scholar Award recognizes colleagues who dedicate their formative careers to research.

The recipient of the 2008 Presidential Scholar Award was John H. Eisenach, M.D., who received his award at the ASA Annual Meeting in Orlando, Florida, on Monday, October 20, 2008. Dr. Eisenach is an Assistant Professor of Anesthesiology in the Department of Anesthesia, Mayo Graduate School of Medicine, Rochester, Minnesota.

The deadline for nominations for the 2009 Presidential Scholar Award is March 31, 2009. Anesthesiologists who are within seven years of their first appointment to a department of anesthesiology, who are board-certified, who are ASA members, and who spend at least two days per week in clinical practice are eligible for the award. Nominees must be academically accomplished with peer-reviewed publications and funded research. Candidates should be nominated by their department chair, or by the Committee on Research after review of the current year's grant applicants of the Foundation for Anesthesia Education and Research. The nominee's department chair should submit a letter of support and the nominee's current curriculum vitae, as well as a seconding letter from a senior faculty member. Only one nominee per department will be accepted.

Please submit nominations or any questions regarding this award to George H. Kendall, Managing Editor, ANESTHESIOLOGY, Department of Anesthesiology, Wake Forest University School of Medicine, Medical Center Boulevard, Winston-Salem, North Carolina 27157 or e-mail managing-editor@anesthesiology.org.